Best of 2019

Now that 2020 has officially begun, I wanted to take a moment to commemorate everything that happened in 2019. It was an eventful year, with lots of ups and downs, but for better or worse it set the stage for 2020. 

So here’s to what has been, and to what will be. Happy new year! πŸ₯³

Best Reads of 2019

My Best Posts of 2019

These are my personal favorites, rather than my top-performing posts. (I haven’t done the latter analysis yet, though I probably will at some point.)

In no particular order:

Achievements & Memories

  • I finished 245 books, 29 of which were 5-star reads.
  • My first traveler’s notebook got me through the fall semester; while all the 2020 bujo setup videos are admittedly inducing FOMO, I think I’m sticking with the TN for now.
  • I saw Avengers: Endgame in theaters with my suitemates, then Spiderman: Far From Home in theaters alone. The two experiences were equally great, and in 2020 I hope to see more movies, both by myself and with friends.
  • Maggie Stiefvater’s Brooklyn writing seminar was everything I hoped and dreamed. That is all.
  • About a year after it began, my first romantic relationship ended. I don’t regret a moment of it, though I’m happy now focusing on my relationship with myself and the world at large.
  • I finished the two years of prerequisite courses, only to finally come to terms with the knowledge that pharmacy is not for me. While I’m still not totally sure what I’m changing my major to, I already feel more excited for future semesters.
  • The End of an Era: Wrapping Up the 2010s” was my 150th blog post.
  • This blog reached 100, then 200, then over 300 followers! Thank you all for sticking around, even through my extended hiatus πŸ’•
  • And last but certainly not least, the elephant (or fox?) in the room: I redesigned my blog! If you’re reading this, I’m glad you found the new URL and I hope you like the new aesthetic as much as I do.
  • What are your favorite memories from 2019?
  • How many books did you read in 2019? Did you reach your goal(s), if you set any?
  • Did you participate in any reading challenges/readathons in 2019? Are you participating in any in 2020?

12 thoughts on “Best of 2019

  1. Love the new blog design and I really am amazed that you read 245 books DD: How do you manage that?? Reading queen πŸ˜€ Going to a Stiefvater writing seminar must have been absolutely amazing. I really enjoyed Call Down the Hawk too. I need to read The Grace Year and In Other Lands!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aw thank you, Olivia! I honestly don’t know how I managed it either, probably a lot of credit goes to graphic novels plus audiobooks on my half-hour morning commute to classes though πŸ€”

      the writing seminar was indeed amazing and I still think about it a lot! I hope you get to The Grace Year and In Other Lands soon and enjoy them both πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.