[Bookending Spring] 50 Shades of Green

Not gonna lie, these blog posts are my main source of entertainment lately. So I was really happy to find this one by Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads which was a much-needed gentle reminder that colors exist and are pretty and make me happy.

And that spring is coming β€” it hasn’t quite arrived in my hometown yet, but I can feel it in the air. Or maybe that’s pollen and impending allergies …

I actually put quite a few green books on my Recs to Calm Your Soul post (another awesome BE Spring prompt, by Lauren @ Northern Plunder), so you can check that list out too if you’re looking for even more!

Green is the color of spring, so let’s talk about your favorite green books you’ve read, and those on your TBR!!

This post is part of Bookending Spring 2020, which is organized by Sam & Clo!
Today’s prompt, “Calm Your Soul,” is hosted by Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads.

(Yes, this post is backdated. Apparently I finished it on time but never hit “schedule” sooooooo here we are.)

Books I’ve Read

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, of course. Let’s just get this one out of the way since it always shows up on my lists, #sorrynotsorry. I just identify with Cath a lot.
  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott has been a longtime comfort read, with its themes of family, friendship, and coming into your own. It may not be the most spring read (since it literally opens with a line about Christmas), but I consider it good for any time of year.
  • Only Mostly Devastated by Sophia Gonzales: a newer read, but a great one. Marketed as a combination of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and Clueless and Grease, it has lovable characters and nuanced relationships and emotionally-engaging scenes. Highly recommend.
  • To Best the Boys by Mary Weber features a strong female lead, an exciting academic competition, and just enough fantasy and romance to liven up the whole thing. Also some mouthwatering foods β€” I made the Labyrinth cakes from the back-of-book recipe and they were pretty tasty.
  • The Boy Who Lost Fairyland by Catherynne M. Valente is technically the fourth in the series but stands alone with a distinct protagonist and narrative. It’s whimsical and heartwarming, one of my all-time favorites.
  • Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson was such a fun buddy read; it’s fantastically crafted, with vivid worldbuilding and memorable characters and so many witty lines. And I’m grateful that it’s a standalone, though I would absolutely read more books set in this ‘verse.

Books on My TBR

  • Story Thieves by James Riley seems like a fun MG adventure β€” I found it while building up my books within books shelf and haven’t read it yet (obviously), but I hope to, soon.
  • The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin probably got itself onto my TBR by way of its pretty cover. YA Contemporary with themes of “friendship and first love” could be hit or miss, so I guess we’ll see which it is … if I ever get around to it.
  • The Opposite of Innocent by Sonya Sones caught my eye around the time I made my Edelweiss+ account; I was denied an ARC, so it stayed on my TBR. But since it centers on an extremely unhealthy relationship (14-year-old/her parents’ friend, emotional abuse, possibly more), I’ve been holding off on getting into it.
  • The Love & Lies of Rukhsana Ali by Sabina Khan, I’m told, has fantastic Bengali and WLW rep; the reviews I’ve seen were largely glowing, and I’m definitely bumping it up my TBR now that I’ve been reminded of its existence.
  • Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith has an interesting premise β€” AP Stats was one of my favorite math classes, and childhood best friends is one of my favorite tropes. Plus, I remember really liking The Geography of You and Me by the same author.
  • Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown landed on my radar as a relatively widely-recommended YA F/F read. That’s really all I know about it, honestly.
  • Have you read any of the books on this list? Did you enjoy them?
  • What are your favorite green books? (Feel free to link me your post if you also did this prompt!)
  • Do you have a favorite color for book covers?

5 thoughts on “[Bookending Spring] 50 Shades of Green

  1. I’ve read Fangirl and Sorcery of Thorns! This is such a cool idea, the first green book that comes to mind is probably the mass market paperback of the Princess Bride πŸ˜‚I was recently cleaning my shelves and found my copy so it immediately came to mind.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nawwww!! Thank you for doing my prompt!! 😍
    Funnily enough, I have a totally different cover for Little Women, but it’s also green…
    The Boy Who Lost Fairyland looks so good!! As does Story Thieves. I am totally adding these to my TBR.
    😘

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.