I Made a Night Circus Playlist

This is one of my all-time favorite books, as you’ll know if you read my Favorite Reads: Winter Edition post.ย I own it both as a [well-loved, or more accurately, “read so many times it’s literally falling apart”] paperback and as a Kindle book, and very deliberately chose it for my first read of 2019. (Which I really needed after DNF-ing my last two books of 2018, but which ironically increased the chance that I’ll continue to DNF books in 2019 because they just can’t compare.)

This is one of those books that comes to life, that you can easily picture as a movie โ€” but that you don’t really want them to adapt for the big screen, because it could never really compare. Still, here’s the soundtrack I imagine, in two parts: the first forย Leย Cirque des Rรชves as a whole and the second for Celia & Marco.

โ€œMore than a circus, really, like no circus anyone has ever seen. Not a single large tent but a multitude of tents, each with a particular exhibition. No elephants or clowns. No, something more refined than that. Nothing commonplace. This will be different, this will be an utterly unique experience, a feast for the senses. Theatrics sans theater, an immersive entertainment. We will destroy the presumptions and preconceived notions of what a circus is and make it something else entirely, something new.โ€

Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus

Book links: Goodreads | Book Depository


wonder & comfort & mystery all together

We add our own stories, each visitor, each visit, each night spent at the circus. I suppose there will never be a lack of things to say, of stories to be told and shared.

Tracklist

now you may enter

  • 11h11 – Cirque du Soleil
  • The Greatest Show – The Greatest Showman Ensemble
  • Where We Come Alive – Ruelle
  • No One Knows Who We Are – Kaskade ft. Lights
  • Dreammaker – Thomas Bergersen

“you built me dreams”

  • Empires – Ruelle
  • Sweet Surrender – Against the Current
  • Rewrite the Stars – Zac Efron & Zendaya
  • Bring Me the Night – Sam Tsui & Kina Grannis
  • You – A Great Big World
  • Legends Never Die (Alan Walker Remix) – Against the Current

What songs would you include on this soundtrack? And what other books would you like to see a soundtrack for? Let me know!

35 thoughts on “I Made a Night Circus Playlist

  1. OH! hang on, have you read it in french aswell? (randomly got excited, as I did owned the french translation when tried to read it – now thinking maybe I shall try it as an audiobook perhaps ?)

    Though I haven’t finished that book im so gonna peak at that playlist… you got me curious !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YES. This is also MY favorite book of all time!!! Yessss. I am sooooo happy to hear this!

    This is a super fun playlist. I like how you broke it into two parts. When I watched The Greatest Showman I kept having ideas of The Night Circus in my head. I’m glad you picked a song from that show!

    I would need some time to consider what to add… I personally prefer music without lyrics, so it would take some pondering how I could craft the perfect le Cirque des Reves ambiance…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.