[Bookending Summer] Build-a-Story

And with that, we’ve arrived at my final hosted prompt!

Thank you again to Sam and Clo for this opportunity, and I hope you all had as much fun with my prompts as I had coming up with and writing them all!

Since July is Camp NaNoWriMo month, why not try putting together the basics of a novel? Iโ€™m sure youโ€™ve noticed that most books contain several familiar elements; itโ€™s the specific combination that makes each one unique!

So in whatever order makes most sense to you, choose a basic plot, an appropriate setting, your favorite tropes (including a beginning trope and an ending trope), some archetypal characters, and anything else necessary for us to understand the heart of your narrative.

You can use the lists Iโ€™ve linked or search up your own!

This post is part of Bookending Summer 2019, which is organized by Sam & Clo! Today’s prompt, “Build-a-Story,” is hosted by yours truly โ€” so if you do this prompt don’t forget to link back to this post!

This is basically me throwing arbitrary tropes at the wall and seeing what sticks, BECAUSE I CAN. Where applicable, I’ve included real-world (real-book?) examples to help get my point across and for my own future reference when I inevitably try to make this into a coherent novel. Hopefully it’s not too scattered and I don’t scare y’all off with this peek into my story-building process.

.

Worldbuilding

For me personally, story-building often starts with the setting since it influences the development of characters and plot, and also because it helps distinguish each Work in Progress (WIP) in my mind.

Place-wise, I chose to set my hypothetical novel in a parallel universe: basically identical to ours, except when you turn fifteen you gain the ability to transform into an animal. You don’t get to pick which animal and it’s always the same one, but you do get control over the transformation process. (For example, if you wanted to just change your ears to your owl form, to eavesdrop on a conversation? That’s fair game.)

Time-wise, it’s set inย the 1990s. Because that’s the decade I was born, but I was born at the end so I didn’t actually get to experience it. In other words, I’ve always been curious, just not enough to actually do my research.

.

Characters

I’ve wanted to write a female Lovable Rogue, yet somehow still haven’t done it, so she’ll be my main character in this work. If you’re familiar with A.C. Gaughen’s books, imagine Scarlet and Robin Hood rolled into one character. Or just Eugenidesย but female.

Since ensemble casts / found families always bring me joy, let’s throw in some more main characters:

And of course we need antagonists! I had a laugh at the Bastard Bastard archetype, but actually I think it could be a fascinating setup / villain backstory. For tradition’s sake, her backup will include Dumb Muscle and, for humorous irony, a Pollyanna.

.

Plot

Premise: The Quest

“Voyage and return” has historically been my favorite Basic Plot; since I don’t actually have to write this novel but probably will eventually, I figured why not change it up. So basically our protagonist has to retrieve … an undisclosed mystery object, subject of an (of course) exasperatingly vague prophecy. Yeah. To save “life as she knows it,” whatever that means.

Beginning: Easing Into the Adventure + Everyone Meets Everyone

Look, I like slice-of-life / quiet stories and I also like adventure, so domestic pre-Call to Adventure scenes are a lot of fun for me. And so are friendship origin stories. (This whole prompt was self-indulgent to start with, why would I stop here.)

Middle

Ending: Bookends

Not gonna lie, I was more than a little tempted to pull All Just A Dream โ€” mostly to spite all the English teachers who told me I couldn’t and shouldn’t do it. (But really, every English teacher I ever had was a fantastic person who knew what they were talking about, and I’m not being sarcastic here. Seriously.)

Then I saw the name of the Bookends trope and couldn’t pass up its similarity to the event I’m writing this post for. And I love a good “full circle” ending to show just how far the characters have come!

What are your favorite tropes to see in books? Which books use tropes especially well, whether in the execution or by putting a twist on them?

If you do this prompt, please don’t forget to link back to my post!

9 thoughts on “[Bookending Summer] Build-a-Story

  1. I love enemies to lover tropes, and I love the typical hero quest, the learning your abilities, the peak of finally understanding things, then BOOM shit hits the fan and somehow there’s usually a happy ending. [Marvel’s Loki is now the main trickster in my mind when I think of a Trickster] This prompt has definitely been one of my all-time fave in the two BEs I’ve been around for, such a creative and fun one!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oh gosh your character archetypes look soo good! I would totally love to see Loki, a female Wylan and Sydney Clarke interact ๐Ÿ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love a good enemies to lovers trope… and my favourites that I have seen are The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, and The Cruel Prince by Holly Black (I mean, they kind of keep flipping between enemies and lovers, and then back again, but I have hope for little Jardan ๐Ÿ˜)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.