These Are A Few of My Favorite Reads: Spring Edition

Ah, spring. The season of allergies, blossoms and baby animals, temperate outdoor adventures, bright colors, and general optimism. (Or maybe it’s just me?)

In any case, when I went through my shelves to try to find books for this post, I got the distinct impression that I lean toward autumn and summer reads β€” or maybe they just predominate in the publishing world, I’m not sure. Filling out this list was a bit of a struggle, so please do comment some titles or link your own recommendation post!

This post is part of Bookending Spring 2019, which is organized by Sam & Clo! Today’s prompt, “Books that remind me of spring,” is hosted by Theresa @ The Calico Books.


  • House of Many Ways is possibly my favorite in the Howl trilogy, with the colorful and quirky cast and charming magic that characterize Diana Wynne Jones novels.
  • A childhood favorite of mine, The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett is an obvious choice for this list. Just look at the cover and title!
  • Okay, if I’m being completely honest, most of my love for Bridge to Terabithia actually comes from the movie. But the book is also terrific, and all that time Jess and Leslie spend in the woods is a perfect accompaniment for the time of year when it’s actually pleasant to be outside.
  • The bright cover of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan fits perfectly with the cheerful springtime mood! And I think the intriguing plot works for any time of year.
  • This Is How You Survive by Lana Rafaela Cindric is great whenever I need a bit of a mood boost, but the rebirth mindset of spring is a good match for its themes.
  • Maybe it’s just me, but the optimism of the season puts me in the mood for fluffy romance. One of my favorites in this genre is Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern β€” funny, charming, captivating.
  • Almost any of the Little House books would work for this list, but Little House in the Highlands by Melissa Wiley seemed especially fitting because I remember Martha spending a lot of time running around the “rolling Scottish hills” and learning about the world around her.
  • It’s been a while since I read Mosquitoland by David Arnold, but I love the color palette of this cover, and road trips strike me as a springtime kind of thing. (Or summer. Either way.)
  • Of course I’m not just picking books with green covers what are you talking about. I loved the idyllic small town depicted in The Late Bloomers’ Club by Louise Miller; there’s cakes and sisterhood and a beloved but missing dog, and it’s just a pleasant read.

What are your favorite spring reads, whether they’re set during the season or just remind you of it? Have you read any of the ones on my list?

13 thoughts on “These Are A Few of My Favorite Reads: Spring Edition

  1. WHAT IS THIS LITTLE HOUSE IN THE HIGHLANDS?! IT SEEMS ADORABLE! Sorry for the all caps on that, but it does seem adorbs. Now, we need to have a chat, friend. I’m worried.

    What sort of person puts Bridge to Terabithia on a spring full of life list?!!!!? I mean I guess I can see it, you know, once my heart stops smashing to pieces.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Little House in the Highlands is indeed adorable and all-caps worthy!!

      tbh I think I keep selectively forgetting the climax of Bridge to Terabithia, I’ve only read the book a few times and when I rewatch the movie I skip over those scenes to the very end πŸ˜… unless I’m in the mood to cry, bc it gets me every time if I watch it through. (yes I’m a crier. the end of monsters inc also always gets me and it’s not even sad)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I just finished reading The Secret Garden the other week! I remember loving Bridge to Terabithia and the movie as well, when I was younger DD: I need to read Mosquitoland still and it is one I am looking forward to trying. Great recommendations x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for participating in this prompt! I loved reading your answers! The Secret Garden definitely reminds me of spring. πŸ™‚ Also, Love, Rosie has been on my TBR for quite a while now – I really need to get to that one soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.